Wireless Pop3 Email Possible?

Discussion in 'iPAQ h3600-h3900 series' started by Steve80, Jan 23, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Steve80

    Steve80 Mobile Enthusiast

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    How does one go about checking email wirelessly without syncing? Is there a way I can set up pop3 email checking? I read that someone checks their pop mail through yahoo, but I would like a more direct method such as outlook. Any suggestions? Thanks.
  2. AlatWork

    AlatWork BOOMER SOONER!

    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    If so, I do that at home via a wirless card in my iPAQ to my wireless gateway to the cable router to the cable modem to the cable ISP mail server. Open the Inbox on the PPC and go to "Tools -> Options" then click on New. Fill in the information for your ISP and your good to go. This presumes of course that you are using a wireless/wired card in your PPC or a dial modem, ie. the setup is the same...

    Others can speak to the issue of setting this up for a cell phone connection...
  3. Steve80

    Steve80 Mobile Enthusiast

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks so much! It works great! Is there any way I can leave email on the server? I couldn't find that option.
  4. Priccijr

    Priccijr Est. 2001

    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    68
    the mail is left on the server when you receive your mail on your desktop it will be removed from your inbox on your PPC when you send receive again
  5. wildcat

    wildcat Newbie

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi Al!
    I bought CF modem long time ago, I'm using very well for browser web...but I could not check and send email from my account (pop.mail.yahoo.com ). Can you help me to figure out?
    do i have to download for window CE?.....
    thank you
  6. peros

    peros Guest

    If you've got a cellular with an IR port - you're there. Just change the modem on the iPAQ to 'generic iRDA' and connect. (May need to enable IR on the phone first).
Similar Threads: Wireless Pop3
Forum Title Date
iPAQ h3600-h3900 series h3870 Wireless network card Nov 26, 2007
iPAQ h3600-h3900 series Wireless Problem Feb 23, 2007
iPAQ h3600-h3900 series Wireless CF Card for ipaq 3835 with Pocket PC 2003 Jul 24, 2006
iPAQ h3600-h3900 series wireless ipaq h3700 Mar 30, 2005
iPAQ h3600-h3900 series Can't connect via wireless with 3765 iPAQ Jan 18, 2005

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page