Using BlackBerry Desktop Manager Switch Device Wizard

Discussion in 'Blackberry' started by ArGiEs, Nov 2, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ArGiEs

ArGiEs Palm no more

I ran an experiment one day recently after finding out that the BalckBerry Desktop Manager (version4.6) Switch Device Wizard supports both Palm and Windows Mobile platforms. Below is a brief account of my "project."

I plugged in my BlackBerry 8830 (OS version 4.2.2.196) to the computer after launching the DM. Launched Switch Device Wizard, selected Palm device. It then lets you know the Palm desktop version requirements, since that is where it copies your data from (not from the handheld); basically, anything v. 4 and up is accepted. Going forward, it asks you through each stage (each PIM) if you want it done.

I won't go into all the details here. Once finished, here is what I found:

Tasks: this is a progrm I don't actively use alot, so unfortunately I have no detailed experience to share, The two tasks it transfered came through ok.

Calender:no data before the date that I tried this was copied; only that date's info and future appointments were copied. what came through came through well, though.

Memos: everthing was copied well; very readable in the 8830's memo pad.