Tungsten? T5 Update v1.1

Discussion in 'Tungsten T series' started by greycow, Jun 21, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Streaky

    Streaky I can't remember

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Messages:
    11,765
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    UK
    And a high five to all.

    I have reached the light at the end of the tunnel. This is a hideous-to-perform upgrade and I don't yet know if it's worth it. I would strongly recommend anyone who has installed additional apps and/or personalised their apps to buy (and use) a backup app first. Why Palmone is releasing an update that wipes the T5 I don't know.

    Anyway, I did it all as in my previous post and then sat on the train home to get my T5 back to how it was, if not better. Most of the apps came back with the hotsync. I restored my internal drive in its entirety using BackupBuddy VFS Professional (v. 3.1 RC 2) (from www.bluenomad.com with complete ease. I then reckoned I wanted all my preferences back (such as cities in 4cast) and really couldn't be arsed to set everything up again (I ditched my T3 for the T5 because I was so teed off with hard resets) so I bit the bullet and did a full restore from BBVFS.

    As the Palm reconfigures some things from scratch after the reset (after reading the BBVFS manual) I knew that some files would appear newer on the T5 but that I'd want to overwrite them from my backup to get my prefs.

    So, using a complicated statistical formula called pot luck, I sat on the train and selectively overwrote anything that didn't look like a system file or a game or font, etc. that I had already got back from the hotsync.

    I now have an upgraded T5 configured exactly as before (well, slightly better as I changed colours (using Khroma) and fonts (using fonts4os5) again). I also had to pair my BT phone again, but it worked fine on the train, even better now as I can now see its model in the available phones list. I have also set up a GPRS network account in additrion to my dial-up account.

    I think I have c. 10 Mb more storage now (I didn't write down the original figure), but that might eb just beacuse I've overlooked an app/database or I deleted something to make more space (embarrassingly, my T5 was fine space-wise, but I had to delete stuff off my PC as I had less than the 15Mb required to run the upgrade!).

    NavMan (my satnav app) isn't happy and I may have to reinstall, but otherwise I think I am a happy camper. More happy, perhaps, that I seem to have successfully navigated my way out of this upgrade rather than because I now have it.

    So, BACK UP first, read the instructions carefully and check here to see if those who have succeeded reckon it's been worth it.
     
  2. Nine

    Nine Ooh NO, missus...

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2003
    Messages:
    20,734
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    263
    Location:
    London, England
    Worked for me too. When that bum-clenching fatal error after three minutes of launching it occured (that others have also found), a soft-reset and rerunning worked instantly.

    And I too have gained over 10Mb - and have to agree that the unit feels FAR more responsive - especially when opening and closing very large databases. I chose to hard-reset before running - so some apps preferences had to be set again and a few registration codes dug out - but aside from that, I is one happy bunny. :)
     
  3. Streaky

    Streaky I can't remember

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Messages:
    11,765
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    UK
    Go to palmone and see, or look at the other, bigger thread on this.

    Yes.

    (Sorry - in a rush.)
     
  4. Lechero

    Lechero Mobile Deity

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    23
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    Thanks STREAKY!
    When I have some time ill give a chance.
     
  5. Streaky

    Streaky I can't remember

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Messages:
    11,765
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    UK
    Well, the restore worked okay (see my other post). I disabled this morning's auto back up and have just begun backing up my internal drive. Around half way through it crashed:

    MemoryMgr.c, Line:3877, Invalid chunk ptr

    I'll have another go after I've reset and then try a full system back up.

    As far as I'm concerned BBVFS earned its stripes just for seeing me through this upgrade.

    [Edit]

    Completed the back up of my internal drive this time, but then got:

    Fatal Exception

    Will reset again.

    [Edit]

    Success! Now moving to my first post-update full system backup (the one I usually run at 3am each morning).

    [Edit]

    Full back up worked right up to the end but then the BBVFS screen froze partially written. I assumed the worst and thought another reset was on the cards but when I pushed my Datebook button I went off there. Returned to BBVFS to see that last back up was the one I've just done, so ran it again just in case. Everything went okay.

    I really think I ought to do some work now.
     
  6. Nine

    Nine Ooh NO, missus...

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2003
    Messages:
    20,734
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    263
    Location:
    London, England
    BackupBuddyVFS - for me, anyway - now seems to work like a charm. :)
     
  7. rgloor

    rgloor Entrepreneur

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yes. It seems to be the international version (also) at www.palmone.com.

    I downloaded it last night. During installation, it was asking the language and actually had the correct one pre-selected (German in my case).

    Hope this helps.
     
  8. rgloor

    rgloor Entrepreneur

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I thought it might be helpful for some of you in progress to upgrade.

    Like others, I also had often the issue of resets after hotsync.

    So I was eager to upgrade:
    I printed the instructions (http://www.palmone.com/us/support/downloads/tungstent5/tungstent5update.html and http://www.palmone.com/us/support/downloads/tungstent5/tungstent5update_install.html) and followed them strictly.

    The whole upgrade took about 20 Minutes and happend as described in the oline-instructions AND as well the instructions of the upgrade program.

    I usually tend to quickly click the yes or continue buttoms. This time I really carefully read the steps and points and followed precisely.

    So the upgrade went eventless.

    Since the upgrade, I haven't had a single reset, have more RAM and it somehow feels even faster.

    Good luck to all the upgraders.
     
  9. Nine

    Nine Ooh NO, missus...

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2003
    Messages:
    20,734
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    263
    Location:
    London, England
    The instructions that I read somehow got themselves a bit confused, and started calling the INTERNAL drive the LIFEDRIVE when backing up the internal memory. Bless 'em - they even magae to b*gger-up their solutions to the original b*gger-ups... ;)
     
  10. webwizardc88

    webwizardc88 Mobile Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2002
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    23
    Location:
    , NY
    I have an idea.

    If it isnt too much trouble, someone please run speedy (or simmilar benchmarking program) on an updated T5 and compare the results with a non-updated T5. I'd like to know what the actual speed difference is.
     
Similar Threads: Tungsten Update
Forum Title Date
Tungsten T series Tungsten T5 :: Update v1.1 :: prc file crashed the system. Now it won't restart or shut down Jul 20, 2010
Tungsten T series TT1 How to extract files from palmtungstentupdate.prc and palmaudioupdate.prc? udmh Dec 8, 2006
Tungsten T series Tungsten T|5 updater - anyone tried it yet? Oct 25, 2004
Tungsten T series Palm Tungsten T Update May 12, 2004
Tungsten T series phonelink update for motorola V525 for Tungsten T Apr 30, 2004

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page