Tungsten? T5 Update v1.1

Discussion in 'Tungsten T series' started by greycow, Jun 21, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Mobile Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    6,532
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    213
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    You are correct.

    There is very little point in backing up ROM as it is Read Only Memory and is therefore non-volatile.

    An obscure exception: If one changes ROM with something like Jacksprat/JackFlash, it is advisable to have a backup!

    Backup programs are generally for RAM, which is intended to be modified by the user.
     
  2. T5 Macbeth

    T5 Macbeth Come, let me clutch thee.

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2005
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have downloaded the update and read the instructions on loading it. One thing though, the instructions say that I need Hotsync Manager 6.0.1. I have Hotsync Manager 5.0P. After searching around on the PalmOne website, I am still unable to find the newest Hotsync Mgr to download. What am I missing?

    Can someone please tell me where to find this verson (6.0.1)? Or, is it installed when I install the new update (although that doesn't seem to make much sense).

    Thanks for the help,

    AV
     
  3. T5 Macbeth

    T5 Macbeth Come, let me clutch thee.

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2005
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Nevermind.

    AV
     
  4. brush

    brush Psychologist

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2003
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    23
    When performing the check to see if you need the update (I know I do) i get Sat 10/16/2004 2:45Pm. Did my T5 even have the previous Rom update or am I two behind? I boght my T5 in April 05
     
  5. Theophilos

    Theophilos Mobile Consultant

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Brush,
    From memory, that date indicates you have the first update.
    Even if you didn't have it, I believe the latest update includes the Nov 2004 update.

    BTW
    Can anyone think of why I shouldn't try the update off the American website if I am in Australia and the update is not on the Australian site?
     
  6. dhyamato

    dhyamato Centro Newbie...

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Man, I learned the hard way that whenever there's a ROM update, one should make sure that whatever unit you have should have enough juice in it.

    I attempted to update my T5 to 1.1 at work using my laptop this morning. Like an enthusiastic toddler on-a-wing-and-a-prayer, I attempted to install 1.1 using what remaining power was left (~3.90v). I ignored the warnings and during the install I received a message on the T5 screen to plug it in. It would not proceed any further. I was pretty screwed since I left my charger at home and for some reason, it froze the screen, too.

    After returning home and sticking it in the charger, I did a hard reset and started over. I restored from backup and it's working great! The final tune-up is to install Graffitti 1 and it'll be good to go.

    From what I've see so far, it does work a tadbit faster and hasn't crashed, yet, yea!

    Thank you pa1mOne for the update. It was better late than never...

    UPDATE:
    Graffiti 1 is now installed and all seems well. No resets, either!! Woohoo!!!
     
  7. holvoetn

    holvoetn Still a moderator ...

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Messages:
    24,536
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    263
    Location:
    Belgium (Europe)
    Well, FWIW, the requirements DO state very clearly you should start fully charged ... fourth bullet ...

     
  8. ackmondual

    ackmondual Mobile Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Messages:
    982
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    U.S.A., Earth
    Wait, so there IS a G1 option for t5 users?
     
  9. brush

    brush Psychologist

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2003
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    23
    Dear ackmondual,


    Yes, G1 works great on my T5. I would like to see a confirmation from someone who has done the ROM update that G1 will reinstall. Do a search for G1 in this forum and you will find the necessary files which are a breeze to install. They must, however be reinstalled if there is a hard reset.
     
  10. akwarner

    akwarner Mobile Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I did the update yesterday and my G1 files restored as part of the restore of all my data. It continues to work just fine. Good luck.

    A.
     
Similar Threads: Tungsten Update
Forum Title Date
Tungsten T series Tungsten T5 :: Update v1.1 :: prc file crashed the system. Now it won't restart or shut down Jul 20, 2010
Tungsten T series TT1 How to extract files from palmtungstentupdate.prc and palmaudioupdate.prc? udmh Dec 8, 2006
Tungsten T series Tungsten T|5 updater - anyone tried it yet? Oct 25, 2004
Tungsten T series Palm Tungsten T Update May 12, 2004
Tungsten T series phonelink update for motorola V525 for Tungsten T Apr 30, 2004

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page