Tungsten? T5 Update v1.1

Discussion in 'Tungsten T series' started by greycow, Jun 21, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. brush

    brush Psychologist

    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    23
    I have the current version of backupman and since I paid for it when I had a T/E I would like to use it. It does complete timed backups without errors but I am not sure it will restore. I'm leary about doing a restore since I'd hate to have things messed up. Has anyone had post rom update experience with backupman? I contacted their tec support and they say they've had positive reports from the filed but aren't yet finished testing.

    I assume I could 1) hotsync, 2) restore 3)if it fails, do hard reset. 4)hotsync and the backup would restore to current settings. I just hate to go walking on the high wire if I don't have to.
     
  2. holvoetn

    holvoetn Still a moderator ...

    Messages:
    24,536
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    263
    FWIW:

    I thinkered quite a bit with the Flash on my T3 + I replaced the battery with a more powerful version (hence the T3.5 :D )

    Both times BackupMan just did what it was supposed to do: restore from previous backups.

    As far as I know, they fixed all the bugs on the NVFS issues quite some time ago. I would go for it ...
     
  3. hussam_o_r

    hussam_o_r Mobile Enthusiast

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i succeded in updating My T5
     
  4. WongC

    WongC Newbie

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi brush,

    Everything else (PktQuicken, funSMS, etc) post T5 1.1 flash, was looking ok, and working fine, after a Hard reset, from the restore from backup, except..

    ..I had to use BackupMan153, specifically to get DateBk5, Contacts, & Memos back to precisely the way it was.

    Also, I did not have to re-insert a single registration code anywhere.. Hmm?

    ps: I'm sorry I can't do the nifty italic quotes, etc. in response.
     
  5. holvoetn

    holvoetn Still a moderator ...

    Messages:
    24,536
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    263
    [ i ] for Italic, then [ /i ] for Italic off (without the spaces)
    Same for Bold (b) and Underline (u)

    You COULD also use the buttons on top of the entry window.
     
  6. souper

    souper Mobile Consultant

    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Not sure why I got so lucky, but I ran through the entire sequence with no problem until the very end. The system came back after the final reset, but without the menu bar on the bottom! I am going to do the hard reset, upgrade and rebuild. Any idea why this would occur?
     
  7. souper

    souper Mobile Consultant

    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    QUICK UPDATE:

    After my last post, I went through the other threads to see if it was a problem not in this thread and found this post reply from KY933:

    "It's a very good guess that you've installed the T3 DIA Patch that some applications bundled with. To remove it, you do NOT need to hard reset your palm... however, you will need a good file-management application like FileZ (with Z, not the built-in Files) and a "warm-reset" (holding "UP" button while pushing the reset-pin, hold the UP until the circle palm logo shows up -- it will bypass loading of any non-OS softwares/patches). After the warm-reset, just use the FileZ to locate the 2 T3 DIA Patch files and delete them from the Internal RAM, and then "soft-reset" again (soft-reset means a normal reset pushing the reset-pin-hole only). The next Hotsync should remove the T3 DIA Patch Files from the PC backup as well. Hope this helps.

    P.S. for your reference, the 2 T3 DIA Patch files:
    AppSlipRotate.prc
    StatusBarLib.prc

    P.S.2 If somehow you can't manage to warm-reset your palm and/or remove the 2 files from your T5, then you'll need to hard-reset your palm, and also remove/delete the 2 files above from your PC's palm profile backup folder, and hotsync the stuff back to the palm again."

    I tried it and it worked! No need to rebuild - THANKS KY933!!!

    By the way, my palm did gain about 8 MB in internal memory and does seem slightly quicker.
     
  8. Theophilos

    Theophilos Mobile Consultant

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Did the update with no hitches and all fine

    but now I get this word flashing on my screen over and over and over

    redrum...redrum...redrum...redrum

    Any thoughts?

    Better go, sounds like someone's at the door...
     
  9. loubob57

    loubob57 Mobile Deity

    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    I did the upgrade and meticulously followed the instructions. It went off without a hitch. It took me about 50 minutes total to do everything including reinstalling the WiFi driver.

    One thing they didn't fix, you still have to clear out the PC name every time you want to do a WiFi hotsync.
     
  10. akwarner

    akwarner Mobile Consultant

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    brush, I understand your reluctance but I tried version 1.54 and it worked perfectly after the 1.1 T5 Update. I am very happy. I couldn't get a good backup to the SD until now with the new T5 firmware. BackupBuddy 3.07 also works for me now as well. I was unable to get it to complete without errors before. I have done a full hard reset and restore with BackupMan 1.54 twice now and it has worked perfectly. Everything restored as expected. I didn't lose anything and I didn't need to re-register any programs. It is also working well for nightly backups again. I haven't been able to be this confident and relaxed about backing up since I switched from my Tungsten C to the T5. The firmware update has been a really great for me.

    A.
     
Similar Threads: Tungsten Update
Forum Title Date
Tungsten T series Tungsten T5 :: Update v1.1 :: prc file crashed the system. Now it won't restart or shut down Jul 20, 2010
Tungsten T series TT1 How to extract files from palmtungstentupdate.prc and palmaudioupdate.prc? udmh Dec 8, 2006
Tungsten T series Tungsten T|5 updater - anyone tried it yet? Oct 25, 2004
Tungsten T series Palm Tungsten T Update May 12, 2004
Tungsten T series phonelink update for motorola V525 for Tungsten T Apr 30, 2004

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page