Trying out contact lenses for the first time.. I can't stop crying..

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by headcronie, Feb 1, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. headcronie

headcronie Greyscale. Nuff Said. Super Moderator

How hellish is it trying out contacts? Do your eyes adjust to having a big rubber thingie attached to them? I'm constantly sniffling and my eyes are watering... *sniffle* Good grief.. I'm happy I really am, I just look like I came from a funeral is all. :D

2. PDA Bach

PDA Bach Dunsel

It takes a little while to have them build up a little callus (oversimplifying, but true). However, if your eyes don't stop tearing you may not be able to handle the material they are made of OR maybe there's a little bit of irritant on one of them. Clean really well and try again.

3. AKAJohnDoe

AKAJohnDoe Mobile Deity

I've been wearing contacts for several decades. Never did quite get used to hard lenses, and could only wear the gas permeable ones for the work day, but these soft lenses that go in in the morning and come out at bedtime and get thrown away every two weeks are comfy - except during pollen season.

Many folks have reactions to the solutions, you might try another one.

4. Nine

Nine Ooh NO, missus...

Oh der. I've never tried them. How long are you going to persevere? :(

5. Pulster

Pulster Mobile Deity

I had a bit of trouble when I 1st started wearing contacts (daily disposable) as like you I kept getting watery eyes, uncomfortable and was generally not impressed.

My optician swapped me to some monthly disposable lenses and everything was resolved - though did drop a few down the sink when cleaning them due to overdoing the alcohol intake a few times ;)

So glad I went for contacts after 25+ years of spectacle wearing, makes buying sunglasses much easier :)

If discomfort continues try a different brand or type of lens can make a huge difference.

Good luck :)