The Facade of On-Line Banking...

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by New Cell, Aug 30, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. New Cell

New Cell Unleashed Enigma

2. Hook

Hook Caught Watching Prawn

Not sure I understand, NC. The article linked to is not really concerned with security. Did they switch essays?

3. SGosnell

SGosnell (retired) Palm Pilot

I don't understand either. Customer service and security aren't quite the same thing.

4. New Cell

New Cell Unleashed Enigma

My concern is with those not savoy with banking security on-line...:) B/H members know better...!....:)

5. WyreNut

WyreNut Palm Aficionado

I've been banking online for over 15 years now... Used to use Aol v. 2.x to access BofA. I've changed banks a few times since then, but have never run into a problem that I didn't cause! (One bank promised me "Free Online Banking for Life" then started to charge after 12 months. I chewed out the local manager and yanked my funds immediately.) I now bank with a local Credit Union that has lived up to its promises..

While I was president of the local Apple Users Group (apple //e) we had a demo from BofA. Many members signed up, and then called me to set up their accounts!! "Um you need to enter a password now..." and they'd just tell me what to enter!!!

A very trusting group, we were back then... :)

WyreNut

6. JRakes

JRakes NOT your Average Joe

I love online banking with First Tennessee (current bank.) I've used online banking for some years now, and haven't had to fool with a paper statement since then! Using MS Money, I also haven't had to balance or reconcile a statement in years. YAY!!! Oh, and I also us Ultrasoft Money on my Palm to sync with MS Money - I don't even carry a checkbook anymore, relying on my debit / check card and Palm for on-the-fly transactions.