Testing pTunes 5.0.1 (again), found some glitches, are they known bugs?

Discussion in 'Multimedia (Palm OS)' started by raspabalsa, Apr 12, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. RickAgresta

    RickAgresta Above: Peanut, leader of the Peanutty Forces

    Messages:
    16,451
    Likes Received:
    4,224
    Trophy Points:
    288
    my friend, the Last sale was Christmas 2009; it did extend significantly into January2010...

    as for knowing when iirc I received notification via their newsletter (emailed); again iirc, anyone can sign up for the newsletter (it goes out every montheor two).

    hth, RA
     
  2. Varjak

    Varjak Mobile Deity

    Messages:
    6,428
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    0
    They usually have one around Xmas; but I think they've had Summer sales before. More knowledgeable people than I could probably provide better info. Yes, $10 was a good deal. I thought that $20 for the upgrade was ridiculous, especially since they sell the whole app for iPhones for much less.
     
  3. RickAgresta

    RickAgresta Above: Peanut, leader of the Peanutty Forces

    Messages:
    16,451
    Likes Received:
    4,224
    Trophy Points:
    288
    I think the app for iPhones is not PocketTunes, but PocketTunes Radio...
     
  4. Hook

    Hook Naked and Unbroken

    Messages:
    17,406
    Likes Received:
    3,402
    Trophy Points:
    288
    There really isn't much point in making a version of any music player for Apple. ;)
     
  5. RickAgresta

    RickAgresta Above: Peanut, leader of the Peanutty Forces

    Messages:
    16,451
    Likes Received:
    4,224
    Trophy Points:
    288
    . 129043888847148666.jpg .
     
  6. raspabalsa

    raspabalsa Brain stuck BogoMipping

    Messages:
    7,352
    Likes Received:
    719
    Trophy Points:
    288
    Dang! I had no idea. Qould have been a fine birthday present from myself.
    Thanks, I've signed for the newsletter.
    Now that would be nice. Summer is not so far away. Hopefully they will have fixed the bugs by then.
     
  7. RickAgresta

    RickAgresta Above: Peanut, leader of the Peanutty Forces

    Messages:
    16,451
    Likes Received:
    4,224
    Trophy Points:
    288
    an American expression:
    "it ain't over 'til its over" ...

    yesterday, in prep for a 2 hour + drive I started a new playlist (on the 755p; biggest battery of my devices); I accidentally triple-tapped a song I wanted to include; when I tapped 'OK' to save those songs & move to another artist, the song I'd triple-tapped was listed 3 times. just now, tried the same actions on TX -- same result. And now, having soft reset TX yesterday, I see your initially described volume misbehavior, using the Volume slider (Cobalt skin, +3db). *sigh*

    I'd go back to 3.18, except for some of the newer skins (like Winamp Modern) which are for V. 4 or later.
     
  8. raspabalsa

    raspabalsa Brain stuck BogoMipping

    Messages:
    7,352
    Likes Received:
    719
    Trophy Points:
    288
    You really mean that, going back to version 3.18? What about all the newer features of pTunes, don't you think you'll miss them? The added functionality is what's drawing me to pTunes. But then these bugs can be very annoying, especially when compared to Aeroplayer, which had zero bugs that I know of (haven't seen a single glitch in Aeroplayer in more than 4 years).
     
  9. RickAgresta

    RickAgresta Above: Peanut, leader of the Peanutty Forces

    Messages:
    16,451
    Likes Received:
    4,224
    Trophy Points:
    288
    maybe I'm missing out on the greatest innovations since sliced bread, but frankly, I don't use them:
    • Album art? waste of space; even an 8Gb SDHC has its limits
    • last.fm & "scrobbling"? I don't use internet radio at home, at work, and certainly not while travelling (not with a TX, nor w/ unactivated Centro or 755p)
    • podcasts? see bullet #2
     
  10. raspabalsa

    raspabalsa Brain stuck BogoMipping

    Messages:
    7,352
    Likes Received:
    719
    Trophy Points:
    288
    I'm reviving this thread because I found what I think is another bug with pTunes 5.0.1. I haven't verified it yet, so I won't mention it to the guys at Normsoft until I'm sure it's a real bug.

    The problem I'm seeing is that sometimes, when I launch pTunes and start playing, the selected song will be played at a faster speed than it should. Not really fast to sound like Alvin and the Chipmunks, but fast enough to notice a clear change in voice pitch and beat. After repeated tests, I've found two factors:

    - This happens only when my TX's dbcache is low. Incidentally, this happens mostly when I launch pTunes after watching a movie with CorePlayer (a big dbcache hogger). After I notice the change in he music, I return to the launcher, run Off Flush and the dbcache will invariably be extremely low (under 10%, sometimes even less). It seems a cache flush will not solve the problem, even if the dbcache's largest chunk increases to a respectable size. I'm not sure about this, though, because I need to test more. The only solution I'm sure of is a soft reset (which will clear the dbcache).

    - This does not happen with all my MP3 tracks. All my MP3s have been ripped over the years, using several programs. Bitrates range from 128 kbps to 256kbs. They are all ripped at constant bitrates (I checked the troublesome tracks). What's more, the problem occurs on some tracks of one album, but not on others, even when all the tracks of the album were ripped with the same program and configuration.

    Has anyone seen this problem? Any ideas?
     
Similar Threads: Testing pTunes
Forum Title Date
Multimedia (Palm OS) pTunes over PPP in Windows 7 64bit Jun 12, 2011
Multimedia (Palm OS) More pTunes questions... Dec 14, 2009
Multimedia (Palm OS) pTunes 5.0 Music Search Extremely Slow! Jul 25, 2009
Multimedia (Palm OS) Problems w/ pTunes Nov 20, 2008
Multimedia (Palm OS) Synching Music to PTunes Nov 20, 2008

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page