PDA recommendations for a college student please!

Discussion in 'PDAs and Handhelds' started by klefgar, Jun 19, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. klefgar

klefgar Newbie

Hi, im a current student enrolled into a health major and decided its time i utilize a PDA just to keep track of my schedules and whatever. I don't really care much about the extra features like video playback, mp3 or whatever though they're nice features and all, but im running on a tight budget. I just need it for looking over ebooks, word documents, spreadsheets, and a kickass scheduler. A sufficient amount of memory would be nice as well. Thanks in advance!
  2. Dick Tracy

Dick Tracy Detective/Moderator

Welcome to Brighthand klefgar.

Do you intend to sync with a Mac or PC? If the latter, what OS is on it?

How tight is your budget? Do you want something new with a warranty or would something used fit your budget better?
  3. Konrad Pierce

Konrad Pierce Village Idiot 2.0

PDA models are dominated by two different platforms: either Windows Mobile ("Pocket PC") or Palm. They're both good, and it seems to ultimately boil down to personal preference.

I'm functioning under some assumptions:
    1) Obviously you'd like the most capable device you can get, but - at this time - your primary consideration is cost.
    2) You will generally follow a light usage pattern (eBook reader, word processing, spreadsheets, and - most importantly - scheduler).
    3) As a college student, of course you're gonna want to run multimedia (mp3s, pictures, video) lol, and you want a PDA that'll look pretty slick so you can show off a little bit. <g>
    4) Your campus may (or may not) provide wireless connectivity or hotspots, and if so, you'd really benefit from a device with integrated 802.11 WLAN.
    5) Stuff like BlueTooth, Infrared, GPS, and phone capabilities are all really cool but not really that useful for your needs. At least not useful enough for you to want to pay extra.