New user seeking help and info on mobile phone

Discussion in 'Smartphones' started by Confuzzled367, Dec 19, 2016.

1. Confuzzled367

Confuzzled367 Mobile Enthusiast

Hey everyone,

I'm new to smartphones and so far I've had only a regular cellphone, which was enough for me up until now. Now I'm looking to get a smartphone, and I've done some research on what to get, but I'm still a bit confused on a few things, so I came here to as a few questions regarding mobile phones and their performance.

To start off, I'm looking for an Android smartphone with good performance (whatever that means haha) which can also be used to play games every now and then. I'm not a hardcore gamer or anything but I like to play games when I'm bored. I'm also looking for something that will last for next few years, like 5-6 years at least, since I'm not the kind of guy who's gonna be getting a new phone all the time. And something that runs apps and games smoothly.

Right now, I'm looking at the Xiaomi Mi Max 3GBRAM/32GB, which has excellent overall specs and reviews alike. However, I've been looking at some Antutu benchmark tests, and have discovered that another Xiaomi mobile, specifically the XIAOMI REDMI NOTE 3 PRO DUAL 16GB phone with seemingly *weaker* specs overall (and 25% lower price) actually has better performance and is ranked higher than the Mi Max despite lower specs. So I got a few questions here.

My first question is, how relevant are Antutu benchmark tests, and how come a phone with weaker specs has better performance than one with better stated specs?

My second question is whether or not these tests are relevant to using apps and playing games? Does better performance on Antutu tests mean an overall smoother user experience, whether playing games or using apps?

My third question is - what does smartphone performance depend on exactly? If a phone with lower specs can perform better than one with seemingly higher end specs, than how do you measure performance exactly?