New SD card - do I need to format?

Discussion in 'Palm TX' started by xj-boonie, Jan 31, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. xj-boonie

    xj-boonie Mobile Enthusiast

    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    23
    Got my Lexar 2GB card today. On a whim I put it in my TX, and it recognized it as Lexar Media, 64.0 kb used, 1942.0 MB free of 1942.0 MB (per palm's card info app).

    Do I need to format it?
     
  2. ward.smith

    ward.smith OldSurfDog

    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    213
    Since there is nothing on it, it would not hurt it to format it. I always format a new card.

    I just found a 2 GB Sandisk card on Amazon for $97 with no rebate to deal with. I was going to get the Lexar, but you need to send in for the rebate which is a pain in the arse.

    Enjoy your card!
     
  3. xj-boonie

    xj-boonie Mobile Enthusiast

    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    23
    Thanks.

    Also, can I just copy everything from my 1GB card to my hard drive, then copy it exactly to the 2gb card?
     
  4. ward.smith

    ward.smith OldSurfDog

    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    213
    Yes. I assume you are either using a card reader or a Palm app designed to do that.
     
  5. MleB

    MleB Mobile Enthusiast

    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    23
    I had the opportunity to format a SD card some time ago on my old E and, for whatever reason, Docs2Go (desktop conduit and on device) would no longer recognise the card. Every other program was fine with it, but I couldn't access any files on it via Docs2Go.

    No idea if that is the case still. Just a 'heads-up'.
     
  6. xj-boonie

    xj-boonie Mobile Enthusiast

    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    23
    Formated the Lexar card and it took much less time than I expected (I did it on the TX).

    Then copied everything from the 1gb card to a folder on my hard drive, then copied it to the Lexar 2gb card. Everything seems to work. And I just saved a test Excel spreadsheet to the card.

    Also formated my PNY 1gb card, but haven't tested it yet.
     
  7. Guest

    Guest שָׁנָה טוֹבָה Super Moderator

    Messages:
    3,688
    Likes Received:
    87
    Trophy Points:
    223
    I'm not sure if the E had the proper drivers to format a 2 GB card (Palm only supports up to 1 GB). I would not recommend formatting unless you are experiencing problems. The initial capacity mentioned sounds normal to me.
     
  8. Jalil-e

    Jalil-e 200HP~225nm

    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68

    Even TX and Lifedrive?
     
  9. Dick Tracy

    Dick Tracy Detective/Moderator

    Messages:
    17,695
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    233
    The 1GB limit applies to older models, not the TX and LD. Full details are available in Palm's Knowledge Library.
     
  10. Guest

    Guest שָׁנָה טוֹבָה Super Moderator

    Messages:
    3,688
    Likes Received:
    87
    Trophy Points:
    223
    Thanks for the post DT. I was only referring to the T|E. Palm's article about this is support ID 34080 (unlinkable).
     
Similar Threads: card need
Forum Title Date
Palm TX Need help with Card Reader v1.07 Nov 26, 2008
Palm TX Adding music..is card reader needed? Nov 3, 2007
Palm TX Need a card reader Mar 29, 2006
Palm TX Another SD card-size question? Aug 6, 2013
Palm TX How to move a file from device to SD Card Aug 5, 2013

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page