Introducing myself

Discussion in 'General Palm OS' started by Daniel L, Nov 12, 2019.

1. Daniel L

Daniel L Mobile Enthusiast

I wanted to join this forum a few weeks but the capcha was broken. Now that it's fixed I'm here now. Yay

I've been using my palm tungsten t5 off and on since 2003. It's now my main device and I"m hungry for some features.

Some years ago there was a movement where some devs were trying to update garnet withi a webos looking interface for legacy palm devices. Not sure what ever happened to that but they seemed to be completely gone. But, needless to say, I'm here now to see if it's worth any effort to broaden my use of the palm device.

What I currently use the device for are the games, alarm clock, calendar, tasks.

What I'd like to use the device for aren't possible anymore. I had a wifi card (cost a cool $100 back in the day) but it broke after I inadvertently dropped my palm pilot. So I was limited to bluetooth. While I can pair my t5 with my linux box at home, it's limits are obvious. I can't seem to get it to sync with a cable, despite having synching software installed. Can't sync it with bluetooth either. So there's that.

I am considering a purchase of a tx. Many new and unboxed are on ebay for nearly nothing. I'm counting on the wifi. Mostly, it would be used for downloading email and sync functions, if possible.

Please come on here and burst my bubble and wake me up to the realities of this dead product. I have high hope that there is some function left in this device.

To give you some background, I followed Palm to the Pre. Joined Sprint for the device. Got the touchpad. What a disaster that was.

I finally jumped ship when the Galaxy S2 came. Honestly, I had to wave goodbye to my webos days because it seriously was a poorly developed OS despite the forward thinking feature design. Android was, by many measures, superior.

I continued my drive forward with smartphones. S2 > S4 > S5 > S7 > Grand Prime > J7 > blackberry keyone.