How to manage files on iPad

Discussion in 'iOS / iPhone' started by abenn, Jul 6, 2019.

1. abenn

abenn Mobile Deity

I'm new to iOS, with a 2019-model iPad, and can't figure out where files are stored, or how to see them. On my desktop PC I've got Windows File Manager and on my Android phone I've got Astro file manager, both of which allow me to view and manage the folders and files. Having just used Send Anywhere to transfer a bunch of music files from my phone to my iPad I'm curious to find out where they've been stored, but can't figure out how to do so. I can play them okay, but only using the Send Anywhere app that did the transfer.

I've installed an app called File Manager (4.5 star rating in the Apple store) on my iPad, but it simply reports 'Folder Empty', with no indication of which folder it's looking at, and no apparent option to navigate anywhere.

Is there an app that will function in iOS like the file managers in Windows or Android, or does Apple simply not allow this functionality?

P.S. I've also tried FE File Explorer, which only displays one folder ('On my iPad') with no files in it.

Last edited: Jul 7, 2019
  2. raspabalsa

raspabalsa Brain stuck BogoMipping