How to choose and setup wireless router for TX.

Discussion in 'Palm' started by dwayne123, Jan 17, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dwayne123

dwayne123 PDA Xrayguy

Hello all... I have seen several threads on this board regarding which wireless router to choose and how to configure it for wireless access for your Palm TX. I have had a fair bit of experience setting up wireless routers and there are several pitfalls in the choice of router and in their configuration. So, I will start this new thread so that all can add their input regarding the selection and configuration of wireless router for use with your Palm TX!

CHOICE OF ROUTER:
    I have had extensive experience installing Dlink, Linksys and Netgear routers. From that experience I can say, I would not recommend Dlink OR Linksys at this time. Until these companies fix some major bugs, there are serious connectivity issues with these brands of routers. Following are links to one tech board regarding Dlink and Linksys. Browse these boards and you'll see what I mean:

http://www.dslreports.com/forum/linksys
    http://www.dslreports.com/forum/dlink

That being said, the only router I have had FLAWLESS operation from every time has been NETGEAR. I have the Netgear WGR614, Version 4:

http://kbserver.netgear.com/products/wgr614v4.asp

Drawbacks to the Netgear router is that it can be a bit more expensive, and, the setup interface is a bit less user friendly than Linksys or Dlink. To be fair to Linksys and Dlink, others have had success with these routers. It just hasn't been my experience.