Does Verizon require a data plan for all phones?

Discussion in 'Verizon' started by Annorax, Apr 10, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Annorax

Annorax Newbie

Hi all,

I was reading this article:

news.vzw.com/news/2010/01/pr2010-01-14c.html

and I wasn't clear on one thing. Does Verizon require a data plan for *any* new phone, or just 3G capable or smart phones? Are there any phones sold by Verizon that don't require a data plan? My phone is getting old and I am due for a new one, but I refuse to pay an extra $10 a month for no reason.

Thanks for the help, I am new at this. :)

2. r0k

r0k Dazed

Verizon data plan pricing just refuses to settle down. We bought "messaging phones" for our kids with the understanding we could block data and not get hit for the $10 a month. About 3 months later VZW announced "mandatory" data for those phones at $10 a month. This is in addition to their strict policy that all smartphones (BB, iPhone, Android, WP7) require a data plan. For a month or two, VZW offered tiered data but it cost more than At&t tiered data. Then they got iPhone 4 and tiered data went away. Meanwhile when the Kin1 and Kin2 came out with mandatory $30 data they bombed. Now those 2 phones are out again with data blocked and not plan required (or even available?). The bottom line is that if you are interested in flexible data plan pricing, look to At&t which offers tiered data as low as $15 a month even on smartphones. VZW's $10 75 MB plan is only available on "messaging phones".

We were at the VZW store this weekend looking for replacement phones for our kids' pathetic LG ENV 3 phones. They claimed to have a new LG slider "messaging phone" with a "better" browser but the browser was S-L-O-W. Then there was the fact you couldn't control the cost. Once the 75MB on the $10 plan was used up, the phone switched over to a cents per megabyte plan which I assure you would quickly exceed the national debt.