2018: Thoughts on Anti-Virus and Anti-malware (Windows 10)

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by Hook, May 14, 2018.

  1. Hook

    Hook Phone Killer ;-) Arrrrr...f

    Messages:
    18,986
    Likes Received:
    8,137
    Trophy Points:
    288
    Thanks, HC. Will give that a try tonight when I get home.
     
  2. raspabalsa

    raspabalsa Brain stuck BogoMipping

    Messages:
    8,567
    Likes Received:
    4,790
    Trophy Points:
    288
    Thank you very much, HC! That worked like a charm, quick and easy. I followed your steps, my main account is now regular, then I changed it to local also. AutoCAD still works ok, workspace as it has always been. Under Excel I lost the files pinned to the Open screen and the Recent files too. No big deal, I'll pin them again as I open them. Other than this, everything seems ok.

    I just need to hide the new Admin account from the login screen. I remember there used to be an option to do this, but I can't find it now. Has it been moved elsewhere?
     
    lelisa13p, Hook and scjjtt like this.
  3. jigwashere

    jigwashere Life is a circus!

    Messages:
    16,650
    Likes Received:
    9,651
    Trophy Points:
    288
    I've done this a few times while setting up my PC as well as PCs for other family members. I am the only one with an administrator account on all the PCs: everyone else is a standard user. My primary log in is 'standard user,' too.

    Here are the steps to create a local, non-Microsoft administrator account, then downgrade your primary login to a standard account:
    1. Press Windows + I to open settings
    2. Click Accounts
    3. Click 'Family & other people'
    4. Click 'Add someone else to this PC'
    5. Click 'I don't have this person's sign-in information'
    6. Click 'Add a user without a Microsoft account.
    7. Enter a user name, password and password hint. Click Next.
    8. Select the account you just created and click 'Change account type.'
    9. Choose administrator from the dropdown.
    10. Give the 3-finger salute (Ctrl + Alt + Delete), switch users to the newly created account.
    11. Press Windows + I to open settings
    12. Click Accounts
    13. Click 'Family & other people'
    14. Click your primary user account (the one you previously used as administrator) and change account type to standard user.
    15. Have fun!
     
    Last edited: May 15, 2018
  4. jigwashere

    jigwashere Life is a circus!

    Messages:
    16,650
    Likes Received:
    9,651
    Trophy Points:
    288
    Hiding user accounts from the log in screen requires a registry change. I'm not messing with it.
     
  5. Hook

    Hook Phone Killer ;-) Arrrrr...f

    Messages:
    18,986
    Likes Received:
    8,137
    Trophy Points:
    288
    Wow! What a great thread this morphed into! Thanks to all:thumbsup:

    Still haven't decided whether I'm going to add to my present security setup (Windows Defender + Malwarebytes Free), but if I do it will likely be the McAfee Suite I get free from work.
     
  6. headcronie

    headcronie Greyscale. Nuff Said. Super Moderator

    Messages:
    13,663
    Likes Received:
    2,531
    Trophy Points:
    113
    On Windows 10 Home, the fastest way to get to user management, to change an account type is to do the following:
    upload_2018-5-15_10-3-45.png upload_2018-5-15_10-0-42.png upload_2018-5-15_10-1-13.png
     
    scjjtt, lelisa13p, Hook and 2 others like this.
  7. headcronie

    headcronie Greyscale. Nuff Said. Super Moderator

    Messages:
    13,663
    Likes Received:
    2,531
    Trophy Points:
    113
    It has been moved, and the ways to limit this are dependent upon Pro or Home. This is also one of those areas where which version makes a difference. They've changed it quite a bit since 1607, and I don't have 1709 or 1803 on a Windows Home system to get correct screen grabs.
     
    scjjtt, lelisa13p, raspabalsa and 3 others like this.
  8. headcronie

    headcronie Greyscale. Nuff Said. Super Moderator

    Messages:
    13,663
    Likes Received:
    2,531
    Trophy Points:
    113
    This thread moved so fast, and work has been in my face. I completely missed your nicely listed steps. Thanks for the detail, Jig! :)
     
  9. EdmundDantes

    EdmundDantes Mobile Deity

    Messages:
    2,071
    Likes Received:
    1,628
    Trophy Points:
    288
    This is a very interesting discussion. I figured I had an MS account, because I recall that my laptop setup required an MS account (which bugged me at the time). However, going by that article HC linked, I use a username and a password (actually I use the PIN option, which is a bit easier). I have to look at following some of the things here and setting up an alternate non-admin account though.
     
  10. headcronie

    headcronie Greyscale. Nuff Said. Super Moderator

    Messages:
    13,663
    Likes Received:
    2,531
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Do remember, you don't have to setup a new user and migrate to it. You can setup a new Admin account, and demote your regularly used account from admin to user. Far less fuss, and you don't have to rebuild the wheel again.
     
    scjjtt, Hook, RickAgresta and 2 others like this.
Loading...
Similar Threads - 2018 Thoughts Anti
  1. headcronie
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    602

Share This Page