600MHz, 800MHz, 1GHz, what do I need?

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default 600MHz, 800MHz, 1GHz, what do I need?

I'm totally new to the whole android phones shopping, and I was wondering what speed I really need. Currently I own an iPod 4th gen, and its speed is ideal. I have a limited budget, so all those insane 1.5GHz dual-cores are out of my price range. And also battery life is one of my main concerns, do most androids handle 2 hours of browsing web angry birds and stuff easily, or is battery life comparable to the iPhone 4 hard to find?

Mobile Deity

Default Re: 600MHz, 800MHz, 1GHz, what do I need?

Things like the Desire HD [Inspire 4G], incredible S, Galaxy S [1 Ghz single core models] are becoming pretty good buys these days, still easily fast enough for 99.9% of users and have great features, plus latish versions of the OS.
    I've had two desire HD's, have quite a few family members with iPhone 4's and the battery life and speed is pretty comparable, I can't vouch for battery life being data connected 100% of the time and having widgets and social networking stuff updating all the time, because I don't use it except for when I turn it on to specifically browse or get email/maps, but neither are the iPhones I've compared to which use the same network.
    My dual core sensation has better battery life [than the HD] despite only having a marginally bigger battery, it's not really any faster though either.
    Galaxy SII dual core is better as well, but has quite a bit bigger battery.

From what I've seen, Androids bad battery life is myth as long as you aren't some auto updating social network freak who loves animated wallpapers and using maximum brightness instead of auto, there's many options to extend battery life, screen brightness and poor/dropping phone signal are the two biggest power suckers I've found, so make sure you get something with good coverage where you going to use it.